Thank You

 

I befriended someone on Facebook recently that completely blew my mind.  I am not trying to put someone out there who doesn’t want to be public about this, but I am sending out an invitation for you to post on my Timeline the photo and kind words you sent to me in that private message.

I know that most of you haven’t read my short story The Black Fire, the whole story.  In a brief description it is the story behind a poem I wrote a whole lot of years ago.

I did post a video of me reciting the poem on Facebook for Women’s History Month.  Unfortunately, I had the bright idea to put music in the back ground.  One of my close friends and critics told me that the music was a distraction from the poem.  Oh well, we learn from our mistakes.  It’s not the worst mistake I’ve ever made, that was when I put live electricity in my mouth.  Let’s just say that was an enlightening experience.

I am sorry I am veering off of the point; let me get back to it.  The poem The Black Fire really took on a life.  You wouldn’t believe some of the things that happened after I wrote it and put it out there.  The lunacies included that I got arrested.

Let me go a little deeper into that arrest issue.  I went out celebrating the success of the poem.  I honestly don’t remember whether or not it was published in the anthology, but I know for sure that it got an honorable mention in the international contest.  I was disappointed that I didn’t win the contest, but what sent me over the moon was the beautiful letter that came along with a certificate.  Of course I had to go out celebrating.

Let me tell you, that was one costly night.  Here’s the itemized bill.  I got the crap beat out of me (I gave as good as I got, trust me). I was almost taken into central park where this man was going to do whatever to me. I was robbed of about $175. 00 and ended up with a record because I copped a plea (which is the one and only thing in my life that I truly regret) at the urging of my pro bono lawyer. To add a bitter twist to it, I ended up losing the letter I was out celebrating and the outline for the novel I was about to write.  (Thanks to the police.)

After all was said and done that female canine (my lawyer) had the audacity to turn to me and say “Hmm …….. Since you call yourself a writer you can chalk this up to experience and maybe make a story out of it.”  You had to see the way that she said it.  I wanted to stomp her into a stain on the courtroom floor.

I went home and I wrote that story day and night, from beginning to end.  It was the hardest thing I had ever done.  I didn’t know what the hell I was doing.  I just knew that I was going to do it and I did.

In that story I addressed her directly.

I took the very first copy back to that courtroom and I handed it to her.  I told her exactly what page to turn to where I addressed her.  I stood there and I watched her read it.  She started crying and I walked away.  Then I distributed as many copies of it as I could.

The weird thing about that story is the crazy things that ensued during and after I wrote it.  I am thinking about adding it into the book I am currently putting together.  And yes, I will add in the rest of the foolishness pertaining to the story that has transpired since I wrote the whole story out because it has continued on even after all of these years (at least 10).  It’s unreal, but it’s a true story.

I am saying to you (the person I befriended on Facebook) , I can’t believe that you kept that copy in pristine condition all of these years.  I honor you with my deepest and sincerest gratitude.  I would like to thank you publicly.  It is the kind folks like you that I write for.

If you choose not to post it on my Facebook Timeline it’s okay.  I just want you to know that for the rest of my day when I saw your message I had that song by Katrina And The Waves, Walking On Sunshine stuck in my head.

As a last thought I would like to share with everyone two of the books in my library that have left a lasting impression on me.

By the time I got to the end of Dwarf my eyes and my mouth were wide open.

I loved reading Sugar.  That is a truly entertaining read.

I thank you all for letting me take up your time once again.

Peace and Blessings.

Ms Petra

 

~ by mspetrahenville on March 24, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
